Options

How to get started?

3FmX42mCD74Rg3FmX42mCD74Rg Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
So basically, I've been studying a ton and I've gotten 4 certs now the A+, Security+, Network+, and ITILv3 Foundation. I studied for the CEH and was about to take it, then found out you need 2 years of experience which I don't have or I can pay 1500$ to take their course for 7 days and suddenly I'm qualified for the exam. I "acquired" their course stuff and I can say it's bullshit. It's nothing but a scam so that's off the table. I also studied for the CISSP but I feel like that's just a bunch of fluff and I don't want to pay 500$ for it. Why do that when I can get like 8 Microsoft certifications and learn a massive amount of information for 20$ less?

I've dabbled in C++, Assembly, and Python, and it interests me to do true hacking but time is of the essence. That's a hobby that will have to wait. Here's a list of programs that I've practiced in through VMWare: [FONT=&quot]Bastille, Look@LAN, VMWare Workstation 7, Linux: Backtrack 4, TrueCrypt, Wireshark, Colasoft Packet Builder, Nessus, NMap, Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer, inSSIDer, NetworkStumbler, Goolag, Nikto/Wikto, Paros Proxy, Cain & Abel, Netcat

The problem here is that even though I know how to use these programs and OS's, I have no real experience in using them beyond some VMWare trials, which lets face it is really nothing compared to the real world use of them. So basically I need a job to get the experience or I can do it illegally which isn't really an option.

So I feel like getting into security is out of reach. I'm going for some SQL certifications and I'm studying heavily in this area. I'm not really sure what to do at this point other than keep learning? No experience but a lot of studying, that's about all I have at the moment which compared to someone with experience is really nothing. Any ideas?
[/FONT]

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□