Options

interface command doesnt accept Serial 0

fuseboxfusebox Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi there.

I have recently started studying for the CCNA, and have also bought a home lab to study and get hands on experience.

I have a question. I was going through the RIP router configuration techlab on this website and when I get to the part where I have to configure the Serial connection, I cant seem to do so.

normally how this is supposed to be done is by typing in privaledged mode
RouterName(config)#interface Serial 0

But my router wont accept the name Serial.... When I type in "interface ?"
It shows Ethernet, BRI etc but no Serial. I have a feeling my serial connections have been converted to BRI ports.... is there any way I can reverse these.

my routers are two Cisco 2503.

Any help and feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
Im a newbie.... please be easy on me.

Comments

• Options
    keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    erase the the config would be my thought.. when i got my routers they had async interfaces on them... use "write erase" command then reload router.. it should work fine
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • Options
    NocturnalNocturnal Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Do a "show int" command to see what you've got. Use the ? help features.
    "...a long habit of not thinking a thing wrong, gives it a superficial appearance of being right,..."
    --Tom Paine
  • Options
    write erase is a safe command to use then?

What ive been doign thus far only is "erase startup-config"

in global config mode when I type in the following "interface ?" I get the following;

RouterA(config)#interface ?
    Async Async interface
    BRI ISDN Basic Rate Interface
    BVI Bridge-Group Virtual Interface
    Dialer Dialer interface
    Ethernet IEEE 802.3
    Group-Async Async Group interface
    Lex Lex interface
    Loopback Loopback interface
    Null Null interface
    Tunnel Tunnel interface