Options

New career direction, need some input

CerealKillerCerealKiller Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello techexams.net community! First and foremost, thanks for all the great information here. I have been pouring over it trying to figure out what to do cert-wise, while pondering my career options. I am looking for a bit of advice in what direction to go with my career, and while friends and family are great in this aspect, they aren't in the IT field. Please forgive me for being long winded.

I will try and shorten the long back story a bit. I have an associates degree in computer engineering technology. I have spent the last 7 years at an unnamed on-site computer support company with funny cars. 3 of those years were spent as a sub servicing residential and businesses, and I was making excellent money. I started with the company in its initial startup and was working long hours, but was building up a very large clientèle. I was the most requested tech and had aspirations of the company going big and public. I was even given control of the training of new techs coming in and a contract insuring me a percentage of stock if the company was ever bought.

In 2006 the company went through the process of becoming a franchise, the road had been rocky but here was a model that could be something big. All the employees at the time were offered a discount toward their own franchise. The franchises were carved up territories that weren't currently brining the company any income, but had the potential to. I was hesitant, but after many meetings with the owner I was convinced I could succeed. I was given a territory that I couldn't service outside the bounds of about 20min away from home. I emptied my savings and mutual funds and purchased a franchise outright in Aug 2006.