Options

Difficulty of the Exam

extremegamer1extremegamer1 Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, sorry about posting this as probably other people have posted this before. But can anyone tell me the difficulty of the exam? I took a semester class on Security+ and feel confident in most areas and would like to take the exam next week. I am studying with the Daril Gibson book and find it to be a great review.

Basically, is the exam like the practice exam on this website or more towards Gibson's book and CompTIA's practice exam?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Subby808Subby808 Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Just finished taking the test yesterday. Went in thinking I wasn't prepared enough. From my experience with the actual exam, It's much easier then I expected. I do recommend reading at least two different resources. I elected to use Exam Cram and James Michael Stewarts CompTIA Security + Review guide. From what I read on this forum, Darril's Book seems to be your best option.

The actual exam differed from many of the practice exams in that there were not as many 'select two answers' as I expected to encounter. Again this was my own personal experience. For me there seemed to be more 'select the MOST' reasonable answer. I ended up flagging about 20 questions. I finished the initial 100 questions with about 5 minutes left on the exam. I used the left over time cruising through my flagged questions.

For me I didn't have any of the prerequisites that CompTIA suggest, Ie Network + or two years experience. I managed to pass the test by reading two books and plenty of flashcards.

Good Luck with your exam.

Richard
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Welcome to TE!
    To me it was easier than the Net+ as there was less memorization. The questions were all situational (for the most part) and asked for the "best" answer.I studied using the Sybex book and Labsim.