Options

VLANs on Cisco Switches

medicmedic Member Posts: 116 ■■■□□□□□□□
Can a switchport be a member of more than one VLAN at the same time?

Comments

• Options
    KMAN24KMAN24 Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Not that I am aware of......but I have limited experience. From what I understand only one vlan per switchport. Then all the vlans can come together with trunking.
  • Options
    viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As switch can only be in one vlan...which would be the management vlan, BUT the switch can have it's ports on different vlans. Example...fa0/1-fa0/10 can belong to vlan 2 and fa0/11-fa0/24 can be on vlan 3.

NOTE: a port can ONLY be on one vlan at a time and to be able to have the two vlans talking to eachother you need a layer 3 device like a router.
    CCNP Security - DONE!
    CCNP R&S - In Progress...
    CCIE Security - Future...
  • Options
    medicmedic Member Posts: 116 ■■■□□□□□□□
    That's what I thought.

We have a TrendNet switch at work that uses a web based config interface that allows ports to be assigned to multiple VLANs. I have several VLANs set up with the port for the DSL router in each one giving all of them Internet access but keeping them seperate at the same time.
  • Options
    tunerXtunerX Member Posts: 447 ■■■□□□□□□□
    viper75 wrote:
    As switch can only be in one vlan...which would be the management vlan, BUT the switch can have it's ports on different vlans. Example...fa0/1-fa0/10 can belong to vlan 2 and fa0/11-fa0/24 can be on vlan 3.

NOTE: a port can ONLY be on one vlan at a time and to be able to have the two vlans talking to eachother you need a layer 3 device like a router.

If you have a switch that can do MLS then you can setup as many (up to the max) VLANS as you need. Each vlan can be in its own subnet.
  • Options
    netheadnethead Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□