Couple questions about Sec+

ZiptiesZipties Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm new to techexams. I've been lurking for awhile. I have a couple questions about stuff to know for the Sec+. I've been using transcender and getting in the mid to high 70's.

There seems to be quite a few very specific Microsoft questions about Event IDs and the difference between auditing Windows 2000 and 2003 servers. How much time should I spend memorizing MS specific stuff for the Sec+?

Also, is there a list of specific tools like Snort and Tripwire and what they do? I've read Darrel Gibson's book and it was fantastic, but those two topics didn't seem to be covered as thoroughly as they are on Transcender (with probably very good reason).

Comments

• DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to TE.

Transcender was harder than the actual exam IMO. The test is vendor neutral, but that doesn't mean they don't sneak MS questions in. Microsoft is a lot of time the backbones to networks (thanks to AD) so you will likely see some specific questions. To be perfectly honest, I can't remember if there were any on the actual test or not. (Not that I would be allowed to tell you if I did!)

Having examples of different tools is probably a good idea. Things like wireshark is a protocol analyzer or that Nessus is a vulnerability scanner. Even if they don't directly ask you "What is wireshark?" (Which they could) they might say that you are using wireshark, and in your mind it would help to know what wireshark is. Darril does mention several of these tools, but it might not be a bad idea to find (or create) a list of some common tools and what they are used for.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Zipties wrote: »
    How much time should I spend memorizing MS specific stuff for the Sec+?

What sort of things do you think you need to 'memorize'? Don't you use these tools in your job?