CCNA Exam - Passed!!

certccnacertccna Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I took my CCNA exam today and passed with a score of 849. Pretty close shave!. :D

This is my first attempt. I took the exam more as a trial one bec' none of the online tests/sample exams gave me a clear cut idea of my preparation level Also, I had my doubts about the depth of prep. that is needed for the exam on a particular objective. So, I thought the best way to find out would be to give the actual exam. and god bless, I passed!!.

I got a lot of information by reading this discussion forum and others. So, I feel obligated to contribute something to the forum. Let me share my experience and thereby help you in preparing better for the exam.

About the exam...
Time: 90 minutes
Total Questions: 55 questions
Sims: 2 sims - 1 ospf and 1 rip

The sims were easy. but I did take time on the ospf one. The question was simple but expecting a tougher question I was trying to work out complex stuff there. Finally, I did figure out that the answer was just a two line one. The second was a walk in the park. It is very important that you get the SIMS right!. otherwise the chances of passing are slim.

Subnetting is VERY VERY IMPORTANT. if you don't feel comfortable doing subnetting, vlsm stuff, ip addressing in your head, I would advice you not to take the exam until you are very comfortable with it. Technology questions were straight forward and easy. Troubleshooting questions were indirect and tricky, but manageable.

I definitely believe that I could have managed a better score had I given a few more seconds of thought on the questions which I feel I got wrong. It was like "AH! shouldn't the answer be this??"...after I clicked the next button.

Time was sufficient. I had 8-9 mins to spare at the end of the exam even after wasting about 10-11 min on the OSPF one.

My prep tools...
Primary Book: CCNA study guide by Todd Lammle(sybex)...very good book