Options

Best way to prepare for SQL Server exams as a complete noob?

over9000over9000 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
The title says it all! icon_redface.gif I have access to free skillport books from my job and I want to become a developer in the future, so I'm hoping some certs will help me get my foot in the door. However, I have absolutely zero SQL Server experience. I want to take 432, 433, and 448 since the positions at my job ask for SSAS,SSRS, and SSIS

Should I use step by step books to get the basics down and then use MS Press books, or should I jump straight into the MS Press books and start studying for the exams?

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I have just started using the Step-by-Step books for SSAS and SSRS and I love them. My suggestion, though, is that you start from the basics:

1. REad this post: http://www.techexams.net/forums/sql-server-exams/52826-mcitp-dba-2008-resources.html Buy the Real World Skills book for SQL Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 Administration in Action and study them. These will really help prepare you for the 432 exam. You should also pick up Teach Yourself T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Amazon.com: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (9780672328671): Ben… ), which will give you some good foundational T-SQL knowledge. You should do a ton of lab work in preparation for the 432.

For someone who is a noob I would highly suggest taking your time on this and really, really master the material for the 432 as it will be foundational for anything else you do. Then go on to the Step-by-Step guides.
  • Options
    savior fairesavior faire Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I would suggest springing for the cost of the Developer's Edition of SQL Server, it goes for about $60. I bought this version one year ago.
    There are numerous web sites that offer free training, articles and videos.