Options

Cpu

kinggeorge1987kinggeorge1987 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
I was just curious how indeph the A+ exam goes as far as the evolution of the CPU. The Meyers guide Im studying with covers a large amount of history, and the many differences and upgrades over the years. Im aware that talk about the test questions has a very thin line between useful information and too much.

But should I spend alot of time and energy realizing the differences between every CPU listed in the book, (it starts at the Intel 8088 from 1978 lol), or should I just grasp and appreciate the suddel differences and focus more on how they work today.
Certification Goals

CompTIA A+ 701 & 702 - by December
CompTIA Network+ - by Feb 2011
CompTIA Server + - by May 2011 (At the latest)

Currently Studying
Mike Meyers - All In One Guide to A+ (60%)
Mike Meyers - All In One Guide to Network+(60%)
Network+ Guide to Networks Fifth Edition - Tamara Dean(2%)
The Complete Guide to Servers and Server+ - Micheal Graves(2%)
TestOut Labsim - Network +
TestOut Labsim - Server+

Comments

• Options
    Cert PoorCert Poor Member Posts: 240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's fair game to focus on what the major sockets are, which CPUs are multi-core, which are 64-bit, etc. Difference between HyperTransport, Hyperthreading, and some basic stuff on caches. Mike Meyers included a free 1 hour video demo on the CD which covers CPU and RAM. Worth watching if you haven't. Also know which ones are socket-based (and PGA vs. LGA) and which are slot-based. Everything is fair game! I wouldn't worry too much about the ancient stuff.
    In progress: MTA: Database Fundamentals (98-364)
    Next up: CompTIA Cloud Essentials+ (CLO-002) or LPI Linux Essentials (010-160)
    Earned: CompTIA A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+, Proj+
    ITIL-F v3 2011 | ServiceNow CSA, CAD, CIS | CWNP CWTS
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□