Best cert to get the most interest from recruiters/hr types

I have some experience, but no certs or degrees. Having just started a NOC job, third shift (ugh), I want to give myself some leverage when the contract ends, but also give myself the most marketability to that I get some consistent contact from recruiters.

My question is, what is best most attractive cert(s) to get based on the current market?

CCNA
MCSA/MCITP
or the Comptia trinity

Based on my previous knowledge, I could probably knock out the trinity within 2 months total. Probably not going to offer the most money on the market, but will show fundamental knowledge.

CCNA, seems to be lots of jobs seeking that cert. I do have a limited background with Cisco, configuring 2500s for branch offices a few years ago.

MCITP/or Server admin. Sure, I won't get a admin position right away, but MS always seems to be in demand.

Two more things. I'd love to do security, and I have seen some jobs requiring Security+ in my area (Chicago and burbs) including one company I'd love to work for. I don't mind working the odd shift if I'd doing something I'd like to do. Also, my contract ends in 3 months, with the possibility of direct hire, but based on what I'm getting paid as a contractor, I don't expect it to be in the range I'm seeking, as well, its in the Wireless field, and knowledge is a good thing, I'm not sure if its the direction I want to go in. Bottom line, I'm looking to bump up my resume in short term, giving myself leverage come contract time, as well as with recruiters.

And advice would be much appreciated. While I'd like to do security, I want leverage right now, so that I either get a longer, better paying contract with better hours, and then I can focus on what I'd like to do.

Comments

• howiehandleshowiehandles Member Posts: 148
    let me also add, that I'm starting WGU in October, and the Comptia exams, while more entry level, would satisfy my major, either Security and Network.