Options

I'm An Admin, Why Should I Learn to Code?

13»

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    dynamik wrote: »
    He makes some decent points, but I question some of the items, such as the closing bit about how there hasn't been much change or innovation in the last decade.

I think hes referring more to the lack of innovation in the network world, and honestly, he's right. Data Transport hasn't had any radical changes (they're coming, via things like TRILL and OTV), but it's still mostly about how packets get from one point to the other. The only thing that's REALLY changed is that the links get faster.

I came from an environment with absolutely no virtualization to an environment with heavy virtualization, so alot of what Greg talks about is immediately applicable to me. Making sure I have enough bandwidth for vMotion, for example, is a fun new challenge. I'm going to have to learn alot more about vmware and storage than I was planning on, but I actually like this, the more pies I have my fingers in, the better it is for my career.
    Also related, I had to tweak the MySQL source to get it to compile on OpenBSD. I might just go with the package next time...

openbsd can be a special kind of hell on occasion. I can't remember what release it was, but net-snmp was broken. Horribly broken. Package wouldn't install and it wouldn't compile. After about 4 hours of hacking it out trying to get one or the other to work, I finally said screw it and used FreeBSD instead.

Other distro's have annoying problems like that as well. Debian LDAP interoperability comes immediately to mind.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I think hes referring more to the lack of innovation in the network world, and honestly, he's right.