Options

What I'm doing wrong with IPV6 RIPng

amb1s1amb1s1 Member Posts: 408
I attached a image of my topology. I have problem with router 8 with not learning IPV6 rip route. Both Router 6 and 7 are learning, but not 8.

Router 8 config:
Current configuration : 987 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Router
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
!
!
ip cef
!
ip audit po max-events 100
ipv6 unicast-routing
!
!         
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
! 
!
!
!
!
interface Tunnel0
 no ip address
 ipv6 address 2026::34:2/122
 ipv6 ospf 100 area 34
 tunnel source FastEthernet0/0
 tunnel destination 10.1.1.9
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 ip address 10.1.1.10 255.255.255.252
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 no ip address
 duplex auto
 speed auto
 ipv6 address 2026::2:1/122
 ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable
 ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE default-information originate
!
ip classless
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
ipv6 router ospf 100
 router-id 8.8.8.8
 log-adjacency-changes
!         
ipv6 router rip RIP_ZONE
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
gatekeeper
 shutdown
!
!
line con 0
 stopbits 1
line aux 0
 stopbits 1
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end


Router 6
Current configuration : 875 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Router
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
!
!
ip cef
!
ip audit po max-events 100
ipv6 unicast-routing
!
!         
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
! 
!
!
!
!
interface Loopback0
 no ip address
 ipv6 address 2026::6:6/122
 ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 no ip address
 duplex auto
 speed auto
 ipv6 address 2026::2:2/122
 ipv6 rip RIP_Zone enable
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 no ip address
 duplex auto
 speed auto
 ipv6 address 2026::3:1/122
 ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable
!
ip classless
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
ipv6 router rip RIP_Zone
!
ipv6 router rip RIP_ZONE
!
!         
!
!
!
!
!
!
gatekeeper
 shutdown
!
!
line con 0
 stopbits 1
line aux 0
 stopbits 1
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end


Router 7

Current configuration : 713 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname Router
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
!
!
ip cef
!
ip audit po max-events 100
ipv6 unicast-routing
!
!         
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
! 
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
 no ip address
 duplex auto
 speed auto
 ipv6 address 2026::3:2/122
 ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
 no ip address
 shutdown
 duplex auto
 speed auto
!
ip classless
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
ipv6 router rip RIP_ZONE
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
gatekeeper
 shutdown 
!
!
line con 0
 stopbits 1
line aux 0
 stopbits 1
line vty 0 4
 login
!
!
end

The following is the debug for rip and it looks like it is both sending and receiving RIP
*Sep  4 07:49:31.387: RIPng: Next RIB walk in 166472
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983: RIPng: Sending multicast update on FastEthernet0/1 for RIP_ZONE
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983:        src=FE80::C801:8FF:FE32:6
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983:        dst=FF02::9 (FastEthernet0/1)
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983:        sport=521, dport=521, length=52
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983:        command=2, version=1, mbz=0, #rte=2
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983:        tag=0, metric=1, prefix=2026::2:0/122
*Sep  4 07:49:43.983:        tag=0, metric=1, prefix=::/0
*Sep  4 07:49:44.227: RIPng: response received from FE80::C800:8FF:FE32:8 on FastEthernet0/1 for RIP_ZONE
*Sep  4 07:49:44.227:        src=FE80::C800:8FF:FE32:8 (FastEthernet0/1)
*Sep  4 07:49:44.227:        dst=FF02::9
*Sep  4 07:49:44.227:        sport=521, dport=521, length=32
*Sep  4 07:49:44.231:        command=2, version=1, mbz=0, #rte=1
*Sep  4 07:49:44.231:        tag=0, metric=1, prefix=2026::2:0/122
*Sep  4 07:50:10.879: RIPng: response received from FE80::C800:8FF:FE32:8 on FastEthernet0/1 for RIP_ZONE
*Sep  4 07:50:10.879:        src=FE80::C800:8FF:FE32:8 (FastEthernet0/1)
*Sep  4 07:50:10.879:        dst=FF02::9
*Sep  4 07:50:10.879:        sport=521, dport=521, length=32
*Sep  4 07:50:10.879:        command=2, version=1, mbz=0, #rte=1
*Sep  4 07:50:10.879:        tag=0, metric=1, prefix=2026::2:0/122
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827: RIPng: Sending multicast update on FastEthernet0/1 for RIP_ZONE
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827:        src=FE80::C801:8FF:FE32:6
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827:        dst=FF02::9 (FastEthernet0/1)
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827:        sport=521, dport=521, length=52
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827:        command=2, version=1, mbz=0, #rte=2
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827:        tag=0, metric=1, prefix=2026::2:0/122
*Sep  4 07:50:12.827:        tag=0, metric=1, prefix=::/0un all
All possible debugging has been turned off
David G.
http://gomezd.com <
My Tshoot test Blog
http://twitter.com/ipnet255

Comments

  • Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Nice use of config posting, but RIP configs need network commands

    :)
  • Options
    stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
    Netwurk wrote: »
    Nice use of config posting, but RIP configs need network commands

    :)

    Incorrect, you need network commands for IPv4 RIP, notice this is IPv6 :)

    To the OP, can you try it without the default information originate command? I doubt thats the issue, but may as well rule it out. What does show ipv6 protocols show you?
    Work In Progress: CCIE R&S Written

    CCIE Progress - Hours reading - 15, hours labbing - 1
  • Options
    APAAPA Member Posts: 959
    what do you see in the RIP database?

    CCNA | CCNA:Security | CCNP | CCIP
    JNCIA:JUNOS | JNCIA:EX | JNCIS:ENT | JNCIS:SEC
    JNCIS:SP | JNCIP:SP
  • Options
    deth1kdeth1k Member Posts: 312
    Can we have:

    sh ipv6 route
    sh ipv6 rip data

    Cheers
  • Options
    Bert McGertBert McGert Member Posts: 122
    R6's Fa0/0 is config'd for the following:
    ipv6 rip RIP_Zone enable

    All other interfaces on R6-8 are config'd for the following:
    ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable

    The RIPng routing process name is case-sensitive.
  • Options
    stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
    R6's Fa0/0 is config'd for the following:
    ipv6 rip RIP_Zone enable

    All other interfaces on R6-8 are config'd for the following:
    ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable

    The RIPng routing process name is case-sensitive.


    ......goddamn you and your good eyes icon_sad.gif
    Work In Progress: CCIE R&S Written

    CCIE Progress - Hours reading - 15, hours labbing - 1
  • Options
    Bert McGertBert McGert Member Posts: 122
    ;)

    Truthfully, spotting crap like that will go a long way in the TSHOOT exam. But the struggle to fix the broken is the best way to learn IMO. $10 says you won't forget the case-sensitive tidbit again!
  • Options
    chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
    ;)

    Truthfully, spotting crap like that will go a long way in the TSHOOT exam. But the struggle to fix the broken is the best way to learn IMO. $10 says you won't forget the case-sensitive tidbit again!

    I recall a tshoot lab (in practice, not the test... i have not taken the test) where a key-string had a password of c1sco on one end and clsco on the other. I dont know if you have ever had a "1" and a lowercase "L" in terminal but they look almost identical.

    Point is, be prepared for stupid crap like that.
    Currently Pursuing
    WGU (BS in IT Network Administration) - 52%| CCIE:Voice Written - 0% (0/200 Hours)
    mikej412 wrote:
    Cisco Networking isn't just a job, it's a Lifestyle.
  • Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    stuh84 wrote: »
    Incorrect, you need network commands for IPv4 RIP, notice this is IPv6 :)


    Oops, I spoke too soon

    According to Cisco:

    "The big difference between RIP-2 and RIPng configuration is that RIPng discards the ageold RIP network command in deference to the ipv6 rip name enable interface subcommand, which enables RIPng on the interface"
  • Options
    APAAPA Member Posts: 959
    good catch Bert!

    I need a mobile that has more screen real estate...... :/

    CCNA | CCNA:Security | CCNP | CCIP
    JNCIA:JUNOS | JNCIA:EX | JNCIS:ENT | JNCIS:SEC
    JNCIS:SP | JNCIP:SP
  • Options
    amb1s1amb1s1 Member Posts: 408
    R6's Fa0/0 is config'd for the following:
    ipv6 rip RIP_Zone enable

    All other interfaces on R6-8 are config'd for the following:
    ipv6 rip RIP_ZONE enable

    The RIPng routing process name is case-sensitive.

    BINGOOOOOO!!!!, Now it is good. I know about the case sensitive and I was looking for that problem, but for some reason I look global RIP config and if you see on the global config on router 6, it only have the rip for RIP_ZONE, but I didn't look for the specific interface thats the reason why router was not learning rip router. Good eye
    David G.
    http://gomezd.com <
    My Tshoot test Blog
    http://twitter.com/ipnet255
  • Options
    amb1s1amb1s1 Member Posts: 408
    ;)

    Truthfully, spotting crap like that will go a long way in the TSHOOT exam. But the struggle to fix the broken is the best way to learn IMO. $10 says you won't forget the case-sensitive tidbit again!

    You are damm right, this is the best way to learn by struggling with little things like this. I can double that $20 that I won't forget this. Thanks guys
    David G.
    http://gomezd.com <
    My Tshoot test Blog
    http://twitter.com/ipnet255
  • Options
    HeeroHeero Member Posts: 486
    in this case, it really stands out when you see that R6 has two "ipv6 router rip <process name>" commands. They are like right next to each other as well.
Sign In or Register to comment.