Options

Online Job application asked for too much

earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
I just filled out a job application online for a job I heard about through Indeed. The application took nearly 2 hours to fill out as they are government contractors and since I'm a vet they ask all these conflict of interest questions which take a lot of explaining.
One thing the application asked for was my social security number which was not marked as required and I did not provide. I attached my resume but it doesn't extract the info and I ended up basically enterring all the info from my resume in the application anyway.
I've never seen this before in an online application for them to ask for the SSN. The application also had me fill in my referenceswhich I did provide. I did check to make sure the site was legit by going to the company website and going through the job search (before doing application) to make sure it was legit. I'm just wondering if leaving off my SSN will disqualify me.
No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.

Comments

• Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If its not required, they can't hold it against you.
  • Options
    nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    earweed wrote: »
    I'm just wondering if leaving off my SSN will disqualify me.

It will not disqualify you and I would never hand it out till i'm further along in the process and actually speaking to someone offering the job.
    WIP: IPS exam
  • Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Ditto! Only time I give a SSN to any employer (even if it is government) is after the interview and never before. Hiring folks are very understanding of that fact and will hold off until you get to the next phase of the hiring.

The main reasons why employers need the SSN: