Cert + no proven exp = backfire?

coffee_adictcoffee_adict Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys!
I've been reading around the forums for a while, but never actually registered. Well, here I am.

I thought I would post this on general certification, because its a general question after all. It may sound silly for some you, but its a real concern to me.

This year (2010) I'm finishing my three year course as a network technologist. I already have a LPIC-1 and a CCNA, and I'm studying for LPIC-2 right now which I'll probably get before I graduate.

Next year after my graduation I'll aply to Junior system administration positions. I've got some contacts and I'll probably land an interview somewhere.

The thing is, I have no way to actually prove sysadmin experience (no preview employment contract, just freelance here and there) which I have to some extent. It isn't much experience, but I'm far from a total rookie. That's why I pursued certs in the first place, to be able to prove something.

Does anyone think that decent certifications and no proven experience could actually be viewed negatively by some companies? Or is it something unlikely?

Has anyone even been on a similar position?

What would you guys suggest for someone in my position?

Thanks in advance for any reply!

Comments

• jovan88jovan88 Member Posts: 393
    some people may say so, but the way i see it - you're better off with certs and no experience than no certs and no experience
  • coffee_adictcoffee_adict Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    jovan88 wrote: »
    some people may say so, but the way i see it - you're better off with certs and no experience than no certs and no experience

Thanks for the reply Jovan!
    Yeah, that's the way I see it as well.
  • rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□