Options

Career Advice (Hello and resume posted)

This is a belated hello! I am relatively new to TE, but you all have been so warm and friendly to me. I thought I could ask for some career advice.

I have 5 years experience in I/T and I love it. However, I am having a bit of trouble getting to the next stage of my career.

I am currently unemployed. It's not really important why I left my last employer--I resigned, though, so at least the ball was in my court. I spent the last six months applying to jobs and working on my MCSA and Security+ certifications. I earned them last week. Hooray!

My goal is to be the sys admin unofficial "security guru" of the organization, helping write policies and enforcing them with GPOs and working with firewalls and other security devices. Working with virtualization and SANs sounds fun, too.

Long term I would like to work with security full-time, but in what aspect (consultant, auditing, etc) I'm not sure yet. I am strongly considering graduate school since my B.S. degree is not in CS, IT, or business.

Job Search Strategy

Region-wise I would like to stay in the Mountain States region of the U.S. I have applied to jobs in Utah, Colorado, and Arizona. But I am pretty open, otherwise, since I am single and rent an apartment. If a really good opportunity arose I would pack stakes and move where ever.

I haven't been aggressive in my job search as much as I probably should have. My job search philosophy has been "don't poke the bear", meaning don't bother companies that probably aren't hiring/just laid people off. I think I need to revisit this.

I did already hassle my former I/T colleagues, but they are not as well-connected as I thought. I have since left them alone.