Options

WGU and Virtual Lab Set Up

eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm starting WGU in Oct and was wondering what type of virtual lab set up would be best to set up VMWare, Xen or Hyper-V? I have some experience with VMWare but nothing more then setting up single stand alone VMs. I have access to plenty of Dell 780s and can run them with 8GB ram and 1 TB hard drives.

I'd also like to hear about what everyone else is running.

Comments

• Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    eansdad wrote: »
    I'm starting WGU in Oct and was wondering what type of virtual lab set up would be best to set up VMWare, Xen or Hyper-V? I have some experience with VMWare but nothing more then setting up single stand alone VMs. I have access to plenty of Dell 780s and can run them with 8GB ram and 1 TB hard drives.

I'd also like to hear about what everyone else is running.

I personally plan on using Hyper-V, but that's only because work is.....but I'd definitely let others chime in on the best virtual solution....

As was advised to me and others however, you don't want to use 1TB hard drives. You want to keep the capacity low (i.e. 250GB) so that your VMs don't have performance issues. The higher the capacity, the more work your HD has to do.

That was fine with me...250GB are very inexpensive.
  • Options
    thenjdukethenjduke Member Posts: 894 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I run a virtual lab with Hyper V. I use 4 1 Terrabyte Drives in raid 10. I also boot off SSD 4 of them.
    CCNA, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCDST, MCITP Enterprise Administrator, Working towards Networking BS. CCNP is Next.
  • Options
    thenjduke wrote: »
    I also boot off SSD 4 of them.

SSD is very sweet....shame I won't spend that much for the amount of space you get, but I definitely recognize the tradeoff.
  • Options
    MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□