Options

Any wordpress/PHP gurus here ?

DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hi,

I been looking for a way to add widgets in wordpress 3.0.1 to the top menu bar.

I have been pointed in the direction of a few web sites but I am a complete novice to PHP.

What I want it to be able to display link categories in the top menu rather than the side menu, and I am sure it can be done but I would really like some help in setting it up.

So if any one knows what I am on about please help :)

Aaron
  • If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. Albert Einstein
  • An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backward. So when life is dragging you back with difficulties. It means that its going to launch you into something great. So just focus and keep aiming.

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    You can't do it without modifying either the code, or the theme in stock Wordpress. The easiest way to do it is to find a theme that already does what you want, then it's just a matter of simple modifications. Otherwise you get to learn PHP!
  • Options
    pml1pml1 Member Posts: 147
    Yeah, you'll definitely have to edit the PHP, but it's not too complicated. I've only ever placed widgets in a sidebar, but you can put them anywhere you want.

You'll need to add this in the div that contains your top bar:

[PHP]<?php if (!function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') ||
    !dynamic_sidebar('Top Widgets')) : ?>

<!-- CONTENT HERE WILL ONLY DISPLAY IF NO WIDGETS ARE ACTIVE -->

<? end if; ?>[/PHP]

Then, in your functions.php add something like this:

[PHP]if (function_exists('register_sidebar')) {
    register_sidebar(array(
    'name' => 'Top Widgets',
    'before_widget' => '<div id="%1$s" class="%2$s">',
    'after_widget' => '</div>',
    'before_title' => '<h4 class="widgettittle">',
    'after_title' => '</h4>',
    ));
    }[/PHP]