College professor vs Me on resume length

Jason0352Jason0352 Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm a senior in college and my professor and I are butting heads about my resume. He has some sweet IT hook ups with Bayer in Pittsburgh and I need him on board with me applying there. For some reason our college is so hung up on 1 page resumes, he is giving me alot of push back about mine. I think my resume is warranted in being 2 pages since I have some real experience and skills.

I would love to hear some input from you guys. :).

EDIT:Oh before I forget, the layout I'm using came from a poster on this board so I take no credit for the layout.

EDIT2: Resume has been shortened.

Comments

• thenjdukethenjduke Member Posts: 894 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I like the layout :) I use the same one :) I recommend like I was told get rid of the Skills section. Incorporate it into your expierence bullets.
    CCNA, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCDST, MCITP Enterprise Administrator, Working towards Networking BS. CCNP is Next.
  • eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Did they say anything about using both sides?
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Like thenjduke said get rid of the skills section. Focus less on all the military experience and **** the high school reference.
    This would be better as a 1 page resume.
    Also never send out a word document that has spelling errors. The red underlines automatically throw up a red flag.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • HeeroHeero Member Posts: 486
    From a glance, it looks like it could be slimmed down to fit 1 page without cutting too much. I have about the same amount of experience and i fit it all into one page. You can leave out the specifics on a lot of stuff, though if you are tailoring your resume to a position/organization it could be benificial to leave certain more specific things that fit.
  • ssampierssampier Member Posts: 224