Options

Where should I start? Entry-level jobs or get certs?

abnetabnet Registered Users Posts: 4 ■■■□□□□□□□
OK, so I have a BA degree unrelated to IT/CS. I have three years of experience as a sales associate and PC technician at Circuit City (ended up being lead tech). One year of experience as a Product Rep at Best Buy (this would just be customer service type experience). No certifications. Several years experience with web design (HTML/CSS/Drupal/running my own Linux VPS). All of my skills are self-taught.

Where does that put me? Am I even ready for entry level help desk or desktop support?

At my Circuit City job I could fix practically any problem with XP->Windows 7 without resorting to an OS reinstall. But I have zero experience or knowledge with Exchange/ActiveDirectory/Windows Server, etc. The couple experiences I've had with ActiveDirectory was a friend's/relative's business who said, "Hey, this isn't working, your're good with computers, take a look!" Both times I was able to fix it pretty easily just through general troubleshooting and Google searches. But that's it. I've picked up some Linux admin stuff pretty easily, as it relates to web hosting, and I've heard that Windows Server is a bit more GUI-centric?

The couple coworkers I had at Circuit City DID have degrees and certs (ITT tech grad) and they didn't know a thing about computers or troubleshooting. One was fresh from school, the other came from another IT job. One of the first questions they asked me was, "Where does the hard drive go?" This was in a regular old desktop PC. Another time, "Can you help me out? This router is acting up, it won't install with the CD. Do you know any other way to install it?" So that left a bad taste in my mouth, of course, and I never pursued any certs or ITT type schooling. Not to offend any knowledgeable ITT grads here, I'm sure it depends on the person.