Options

Noob Call Routing question...

chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
I am learning enterprise voice at the moment but had some fun with dial peers and CME configs between different CME routers. In a CCUM environment, how is call handling managed? I have glanced through the chapter, don't have time to read right now, and from what I can tell there are Route Groups and Route Lists to configure digit manipulation and some other stuff.

Say I have a cluster and a bunch of other routers connecting to it from a WAN. How do the sites connect to the cluster, and how does call routing occur?

Maybe that didn't make any sense... I'm a pretty noob at large scale voice implementations but I'm working in one so I gotta charge into it. Let me make a small diagram:
CUCM Cluster -> SW 1 -> R1 <---> R2 -> [Cisco IP PHONE]
________________________\PSTN/

If I had voice gateway capable routers inbetween, how can I get the IP phone to register with the cluster, and how does it get its call routing commands? From the voice gateway, or from the CUCM cluster?

I hope these aren't to stupid questions, but the texts and white pages I have read have not gone into details as to how to configure and how the process is carried out. Only more of what is happening, which is useless to me in this case.
Currently Pursuing
WGU (BS in IT Network Administration) - 52%| CCIE:Voice Written - 0% (0/200 Hours)
mikej412 wrote:
Cisco Networking isn't just a job, it's a Lifestyle.

Comments

• Options
    GT-RobGT-Rob Member Posts: 1,090
    When you say the PSTN is between R1 and R2, is that for IP traffic, or just calls?

If its the 2nd, then the phones are not going to register with the CUCM cluster as they have no way to reach it via IP, unless there is some WAN connectivity elsewhere. For example, how does anyone at that site reach the site at R1? A tunnel over the internet? MPLS?