Options

CCNP or CCSP

powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
I have a bit of a dilemma. I work for a large consulting company and the client that I am working with requires a professional level Cisco certification if I want full access via TACACS. I have always planned on pursuing the CCSP, which would fulfill this requirement. I have been sitting on my CCNA for a few years now, and I was planning on doing the CCNA Security within the next six months. In addition, the vast majority of my Cisco experience has been with the PIX and ASA; I always worked to streamline operations and we were able to eliminate routers at my last employer as all of our WAN connectivity was Ethernet hand-off, so we handled routing with layer 3 switches and gateways were the firewalls. Anyhow, it will take me five exams from where I stand to get the CCSP; in addition, I have no experience with Cisco IPS and the client only uses Cisco routers and switches, so advanced certifications relating to ASA and IPS will not be relevant (although it will be "acceptable") to the client... but understanding better means to secure routers and switches would be beneficial.

The CCNP is three exams (not that it means it will be easier... not really sure which would be easier), so perhaps it will be faster.

My employer offers online live-instructor led courses for CCNA Security and CCSP, as well. They will also reimburse me for whatever reasonable study materials I buy, and they will let me take training courses that are under $2500 each (this seems difficult to find these days).

What route would you recommend?
2024 Renew: [ ] AZ-204 [ ] AZ-305 [ ] AZ-400 [ ] AZ-500 [ ] Vault Assoc.
2024 New: [X] AWS SAP [ ] CKA [ ] Terraform Auth/Ops Pro

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    powerfool wrote: »
    I have always planned on pursuing the CCSP