Motivation techniques

LTParisLTParis Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been false-starting on getting certed up for 2 years now. It's always something in my daily life that ends up getting in the way and my drive to get things done comes creeping to a halt.

So maybe I just need a fresh mindset. What do you do to get motivated to test taking?

Comments

• jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Keep telling yourself that you want to do this - false motivation

I usually have motivation for certifications that I want to get. For everything else that I don't want to do, I use false motivation.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Think of yourself rolling in a pile of money.. That's probably motivation enough for anyone to do something right?
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Do an advanced search for motivation, and limit the search to thread titles only. There are tons of threads like this (spoiler alert: it usually comes down to cars, women, and/or money).
  • mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Wait until the pain of career stagnation outgrows the convenience of doing nothing. It took me about 7x years.
  • LTParisLTParis Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Problem with me has been I have been quite successful in my career. I make over six figures, drive nice cars, and I'm married with 2 kids (which that has been a de-motivator spending time with them). I've re-invented myself a couple times in my career to keep on top of things.

I might need to learn the art of false motivation.
  • vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
    LTParis wrote: »