Options

Network command in BGP ?

auosauos Member Posts: 186
Hi,

I was so confuse about (network command) in BGP,

1. I do (network 172.16.1.0) without mask and auto-summary are enable and I have entry for that network in my routing table, why BGP NOT advertise that network to BGP peers with default class. No any entry in BGP table. (I mean if I did not mention mask they should be take /16 as default?)

2. I do (network 172.16.1.0 mask 255.255.255.0) and auto-summary are enable and I have entry for that network in my routing table, why BGP advertise that network with /24 and did not care about auto-summary.

Comments

• Options
    chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I'm not a BGP expert... heck I'm not even a BGP novice. But I found this:

https://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_q_and_a_item09186a00800949e8.shtml#five
    Q. How does BGP behave differently with auto-summary enabled or disabled?

A. Auto-summary behavior has changed across Cisco IOS software releases. Initially, auto-summary was enabled by default. However, with Cisco bug ID CSCdu81680 ( registered customers only) this behavior has changed. In the latest Cisco IOS, auto-summary is disabled by default. When auto-summary is enabled, it summarizes the locally originated BGP networks to their classfull boundaries. Auto-summary is enabled by default in BGP. When auto-summary is disabled, the routes introduced locally into the BGP table are not summarized to their classfull boundaries. When a subnet exists in the routing table and these three conditions are satisfied, then any subnet of that classfull network in the local routing table will prompt BGP to install the classfull network into the BGP table.

Classfull network statement for a network in the routing table

Classfull mask on that network statement

Auto-summary enabled