Just starting out on an IT career path...

Gimme a JerbGimme a Jerb Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
and I need some advice. :D

I'm 33 years old, have a BS in General Science, and am taking classes towards a Masters in Information Systems. I'm looking to get an entry level IT job to start building my resume. The problem is this: I have almost zero certs (just A+) and zero experience (my background is mostly in business to business sales). I want to go towards the networking side of things so my questions are:

1) Does a MS in Information Systems help?
2) What certs should I be working on next? Network+ ?
3) Any advice for getting an entry level job? (I need one sooner than later, lol)

Thanks in advance for all of your help!!!

Comments

• tbgree00tbgree00 Member Posts: 553 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Welcome to TE, I'm sure you'll find a lot of useful information here. Starting out in IT can be scary but there are enough active posters here to have seen almost everything.

I'm sure an MIS would be helpful in making you stand out but, as I know you realize, all the certs and degrees in the world won't help if you haven't ever worked in the field. If you get a few good years of support experience and have your MIS + some certs you will be a really good candidate.

Most people around here suggest the Comptia Trilogy for people starting out. Net+ is good to have and then CISCO CCENT/CCNA. Then depending on your interest the Windows 7 certifications would be pretty good too. 70-680 to start and then you can choose a specialization to get a MCITP.

I would suggest getting your name in with a few staffing agencies or headhunters. I put a resume out on Monster and get a lot of calls and emails about jobs. If you have a large hospital or university nearby check their job postings. If you're just looking for something to get your resume started contract or part time would be pretty good.
    I finally started that blog - www.thomgreene.com