Career Advice: MCSA 2003 or MCITP, where do we go from here??

falcon101falcon101 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
This past weekend I was able to pass my Net+ exam which also completed my requirements for a Win2000 MCSA (wait for it). I got back in the certs game after 7 years since have been sitting pretty at my current position but the company is very unstable right now.

Now obviously, I am not releasing an APB on me obtaining MCSA on Win 2000 but i do have a question about "where do i go from here?"

I am an IT Manager and deal with ALL aspects of IT in my company. One of the users on this board explained my position to a T.... I have not specialized in one thing but have my hands on several which really is sometime NOT the best thing thing when trying to move up or look for a better job. You may know about A LOT of things but maybe not ALL about it.

I would like to stay in Management (IT, HELPDESK, SUPPORT, SYS/NETWORK) but wanted to set a clear goal on certs.

My first goal is to obtain my CCNA. Now i understand that maybe specialization in CCNA is not the best path to IT Management but having applied to few jobs on the past few months has opened my eyes. Companies want a "KNOW-IT-ALL". If you cant beat them, join em.

Secondary goal is where i need help with. I can either go the MCSA 2003 route and take 290/291, since there is no 292, OR skip the 2003 track and go to MCITP 2008 track. At work we have mostly 2003 servers and few 2008 but again, the ugly truth is that I am NOT a master on those. Of course i manage. maintain and support the AD environment but to a limit.

Lastly, i even have considered ITIL certs for Management purposes.

Any Thoughts, comments or suggestions are appreciated.

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□