Passed ICND2 !!

SMR511SMR511 Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
865...I went in feeling very confident and still tripped on a few.

9 months ago, all I knew about networking was there was a thing on the back of my computer called an "ethernet" jack. I work full time (not in IT) and therefore am green. I have no illusions about how much real experience counts for in landing work.

I read Odom's books, wore out my home lab as well as the Boson exams, Transcender exams, Chris Bryant's Train Signal videos, this website, my iphone ccna apps and read alot of Todd Lammle's book. The more I studied it, the more fascinating it became.

ICND1 seemed much easier than ICND2. (It took one attempt to pass ICND1 and two attempts for ICND2).

I have to say Lammle's chapter on VLSM was a big Eureka moment (for anyone unfamiliar with VLSM).

My main question is. What step should I take next ? Look for some kind of real work ? What other certs are mandatory... a+, network+ ?

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• SMR511SMR511 Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    The answer is going to have to be ...What do I want to do?

My answer is , I'm not sure. I find security and ipv6 fascinating but in practical terms is there a more lucrative path ?
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Congrats!
    Now get ouit and try getting an IT job. It'll take awhile as it's rough out here jobwise.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • xenodamusxenodamus Member Posts: 758
    Congratulations!

I'm taking it Monday....gotta wear out my lab this weekend.