Options

Losing my job: Advice on direction

Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
So I'm losing my job at the end of this month as my job is being outsourced and wanted to hear some opinions on what is the better route long term.

I'm a help desk II agent/application support currently and most jobs currently available are either contract or temp to perm with lower pay then I'm making now. I was thinking of spending a few months dedicating myself to the certificate chase(most likely MCITP:SA/EA) and then start looking again in January/February when more jobs are available. The other option would be to take any help desk job I can find for additional experience and to prevent a gap in my resume.

Currently have Associates Degree, A+, Net+.
Job experience is 3 years tech support, 1 year help desk/application support

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Chris:/*Chris:/* Member Posts: 658 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What type of jobs are in the area (OS type and so forth) and what path are you looking towards beside just another job?

My suggestion is first search for jobs in the area that are hot or prevalent and match your future training to them. At the same time make sure that it is something you want to do and can relatively quickly gain enough skill or knowledge to do it.