Options

Securing the REIMNST share using Windows Deployment Services

sschmidlapsschmidlap Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have implemented WDS running on a Server 2003 R2 domain controller. It is running in mixed mode. Securing images was simple with RIS. Just remove Everyone and Authenticated Users from the share permissions and leave Read permissions for Domain Admins and Domain Computers. This prevents users from browsing the network and copying the answer files and image files.

Unfortunately, with WDS, I have discovered this won't work. All my experiments and research have shown that Authenticated Users MUST be granted Read access in order to select an OS image and install it. Even though I specifically granted Read to Administrator/Administrators/Domain Admins/Domain Computers, when I PXE boot and log into the WDS server as a domain administrator I get the message "error communicating with WDS server". As soon as I give Authenticated Users read share permission it works again.

As a result, all the image files, answer files, and the XP CD source files are open for anyone on the network to copy to their local machines. Surely there is a way to secure this? I would like to hear how others have addressed this glaring security issue. Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    I suppose I could hide the share using $, but that's not securing it. I don't want to assume people can't eventually figure it out and find it. Hiding the share won't stop people from browsing the share and copying files if they still have read permission, right?
  • Options
    What the heck, people? Have I been blackballed or what? Starting to develop a complex here. Surely, there is SOMEBODY that has experienced or dealt with this issue, no? Maybe I should find a security forum? If nothing else, can somebody point me in a better direction for finding like minded people with the same concerns? Hey, if I posted in the wrong place, just tell me. Thank you.
  • Options