Options

Build Me A Laptop Worthy Of Mordor!

SabaloSabalo Member Posts: 100
Okay, so here's your mission.

I have $3000. Well, actually I have a good deal more than that, but I have $3000 I am willing to spend in December or so for a laptop that meets my needs. My needs, of course, have skyrocketed with this cert stuff and with needing a self-contained, portable platform for running VMs. Right now, my perfectly serviceable but not quite up to the task laptop serves me well, but I need something with:

- Hardware assisted virtualization.
- TPM support (In case someone bad steals my stuff)
- As much RAM as one can squeeze into a laptop (most I have seen is 16GB)
- 1080P resolution with appropriate output
- eSata output (2 would be great)
- Wireless, bluetooth, all that jazz.
- SSD because, I mean, dude.

I'd like this in a 15" or less package.

I've been looking on AvaDirect. Do you have other ideas?
I'm no expert, I'm just a guy with some time, money, and the desire to learn a few things.

Completed ITILv3 on 11/20, working on College & METEO, reading Classics on my Kindle, organizing my music library with Mediamonkey & TuneUp, trying to lose a wee bit of weight by running, eating less, and lifting weights, planning for my stateside vacation, and wasting time posting on forums.

Comments

• Options
    eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I don't like the idea of TPM, but hey, to each his own.

Only advice that I can really give here is that you will probably find that a 15" screen is smaller than you will ultimately want. I made this mistake with the last laptop I purchased a couple of years ago, bought a 15". Just last week I ordered a new one with a 17" display....

MS
  • Options
    DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I agree with eMeS, 15 just seems too small.

I also think you are going to have trouble finding a 15'' screen with 1080P
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • Options
    tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□