Options

Master's Degree Question

nicolasqueennicolasqueen Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm considering pursuing a Master's Degree from Capella, or another school if anyone has suggestions, for either Networking or Information Security. I know Capella's has the Network Architecture degree and I've been considering pursuing a CCNA cert but not sure if I should have it first. I've also always been interested in IT Security and I think this might be more of an interest to me right now. I do have some help desk experience as well as years of experience repairing and fixing and patching and such on the side, so I'm not a novice in Computing. I have a Bachelor in Secondary Education currently hated that field. The Master's degree appeals to me because I will need to get financial aid. Is anyone here doing a Master's degree from an online school and would it be detrimental for someone to enter without a previous IT degree?

Comments

• Options
    kkearney75kkearney75 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am currently earning my MBA in IT mgmt from WGU. My bachelor's degree is in psychology. I don't think having an IT degree matters as much as having experience in the field and it sounds as though that is what you have.
  • Options
    IT ManIT Man Member Posts: 159
    I just completed my M.S. in Information Assurance from Capitol College. My B.S. wasn't in an IT related field although I've been working in IT for the past 6 yrs. They just recommend you have knowledge comparable to the Security+ exam.
    Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll still land among the stars. - Les Brown
  • Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□