Options

Group vs Role Management

superman859superman859 Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm studying to take the Sec+ within the next few weeks and almost done reading through All-in-one Sec+ (book is ok but a little dull in presentation).

In the section on priviledge management, it starts out talking about user, group, and role management. I understand users / groups, and I understand MAC, DAC, RBAC, etc.

I'm just curious based on the wording in the book - is there a difference in groups and roles? Personally, I don't see much of a difference. Roles are really just groups. I suppose some groups could be formed that are not roles, but to me I see little difference in these two concepts.

Hope to take the exam in a couple weeks or so! I would like to find some practice tests but haven't found any really. There are some flash cards (about 750) online that I found but that's about it.
Degrees: B.S. Computer Science, B.S. Mathematics

Certifications: Network+, Security+

In-Progress: M.S. Computer Science, CEH

Comments

• Options
    Unforg1venUnforg1ven Member Posts: 108
    In general, groups are usually going to be referenced to a ACL on a system(LDAP services). Use that group to assign like permissions, restrictions etc...

A Role will reference more of the logical model of RBAC. Group those roles together for say each job department.

Keep in mind the RBAC, MAC, and DAC are used for more theoretical understanding of such models. As long as you get the concepts, you're in the clear.
    Next on Tap>> WGU B.S. IT - Network Administration
    MCSA:2008 Complete >> Capstone left!

####################################
    "One of God's own prototypes... too weird to live, too rare to die..."
  • Options
    Here is a question related to ACL I ran across on a flashcard site but got wrong.

Question: Which of the following allows a file to have different security permissions for users that have the same roles or user groups?

A. MAC
    B. Role-Based AC
    C. DAC