Options

Lab Platform question

rhauser44rhauser44 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
New member here and I'm a complete noob in the virtual world.

I have limited funds and I was wondering if the platform below would host a few images to allow me to conduct the 70-642 labs:

For sale is a Dell PowerEdge 1850 Server

4gb Memory (ECC DDR2)
Dual 3.2ghz Xeon Processors
Dual On-Board Gigabit Network Interfaces
Dual/Redundant Power Supplies
Dell Remote Access Controller (DRAC) for lights-out management
Dell PERC RAID Controller
Two 74gb RPM SCSI Hard Drives
CD-Rom Drive
1U chassis

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    marcelsmarcels Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi rhauser44,

If you mirrior the drives I think you might find the disk space could be a bit low.

Its recommended that you use a min of 32GB for Windows 20008 R2. The 70-642 labs in the MS Press books require up to 3 machines, so it depends on how many VM's you want to run.

That said I'm using my Windows 7 PC with 2GB RAM, 2.2GHz Core2 processor 250GB hard drive. I'm using VMware Server and I can run two VMs fine, 3 is a bit slow so I'm looking at upgrading the RAM to 4GB and installing Window 7 64bit.

So you could use your laptop/workstation as an option.
  • Options
    StupporedStuppored Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If I was you, I'd take a risk... take out a loan, borrow on credit card - just not from friends. You call your own shots. Purchase a mid range machine capable of passing the exams. When you're all done with the exams, sell the machine, atleast you'll have papers to help you find employment that much easier. You've gotta take a serious approach to this ~ it's a potential investment that can land you a serious paying position if the cards run your way. If you're already employed in IT, ask your boss to support you - just be straight about it - be serious.