Options

Newbie Looking For advice.

InTrainingInTraining Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

My name is Ancil, im 25 and i am currently a student at Devry university (Online) and my major is Network & Communication Management. I work for Time Warner Cable currently as a Cust care rep. I have no certs and i am starting my sophmore year at Devry later this year. I have joined this site to get into the loop, and to also start working on my certs i am a bit confused on which route to go. I am told that my shot for Level 3 / Tier iii support is very high with my current work ethic but they are looking for candidates with certs. For this job i am not to worried abotu the certs but later on becoming a network engineer i am starting to wonder what certs besides the ccna & ccnp would be helpful to aiding me in my journey. Right now i was looking at the network + exam after reading several post. Can anyone give me some advice on some of the paths they took and if there are some network engineers on here can you guys give me some feedback thanks.

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You already seem to be doing quite well for yourself having a job in IT and getting an education at the same time. You already seem to have a good idea of what you want. Do you see yourself being in networking in the long run (3-5 years down the road) then the CCNA and CCNP will be good certs to shoot for. Getting the Net+ may help you aas a general Vendor neutral view of networking may be good for you.
    Question: Does your current place of employment use a lot of Cisco? If they have exclusively or nearly exclusive Cisco then you could probably skip the Net+ and go straight for the CCNA. You want to aim for what it is that you use where you work and then aim for what it is you want to be doing further down the road.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options