Options

Lateral JOb move?-Advice needed

falcon101falcon101 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I found a position of a Network Admin literally across from my house.

I was shocked to see the a company this close is hiring but I also noticed that the pay was $10K less than what I make now as an IT Manager and its a small firm.

At my current position, I am an IT Manager but the daily commute is 70miles (round trip) in Socal traffic *shiver*. The current company is mid-size Real Estate, and just ok with NO benefits!! (My fam gets medical from the wife). The bosses are bi-polar and their planning and vision is out of whack. I am having a tough time managing 800 users, 12 sites with no incentive and growth insight.

The new company unfortunately does not seem a company where I can grow but the pay is $10K less also. The goddamn place is about a 5 min drive for me.

What's your opinion?

Comments

• Options
    Mojo_666Mojo_666 Member Posts: 438
    Depends what you want, every choice I makes comes down to skills used, technology used, how much I get and how desperate I am for work/the current job market. Working 5 mins for your front door to me has massive appeal but what else has it got? anything that floats your boat? and gets you interested? good tech? ok budget? do they WANT you? etc etc
  • Options
    msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'm in a similar situation myself, working for a real estate firm which has experienced growth from a handful of offices to almost 50 offices to support and the IT department hasn't received any additional help.