2 NICs on 1 Host

hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
I'm a total noob on this and I don't have any time to figure out how to do this since I'm stressed with school now. We're wrapping up the quarter in two weeks.

Here's what I'm trying to do. I have a linux box, Ubuntu 10.04 (actually a dual boot environment) with 2 PCI NICs and one integrated NIC of course.

Integrated NIC: eth0 (main NIC use to get on the World Wide Web) disable for now

(below is for strictly experimentation purpose)
1st PCI NIC: eth1 - 192.168.2.2 MASK: 255.255.255.0 GW: none
2nd PCI NIC: eth2 - 192.168.2.3 MASK: 255.255.255.0 GW: none

I have attached straight twisted pairs from both NICs to an unmanaged switch.

I'm trying to save resources, and instead of having two separate PCs, I thought I can isolate each NIC through virtualization. I plan to use the NIC to connect it to the cloud in GNS3 and bridge the NIC in VirtualBox. However, before I attempt any of that, I set up Wireshark capture on each NIC in promiscuous mode and executed the command:

ping -I eth1 192.168.2.3

And I got "Destination Host Unreachable." I only see ARP broadcasts coming from eth1 on both Wireshark captures. And yes, I'm logged in as root. Do you have any idea what I did wrong? I hope I can accomplish this so I don't have to waste money buying another computer.

Comments

• ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
    I'm a total noob on this and I don't have any time to figure out how to do this since I'm stressed with school now. We're wrapping up the quarter in two weeks.

Here's what I'm trying to do. I have a linux box, Ubuntu 10.04 (actually a dual boot environment) with 2 PCI NICs and one integrated NIC of course.

Integrated NIC: eth0 (main NIC use to get on the World Wide Web) disable for now

I have attached straight twisted pairs from both NICs to an unmanaged switch.