Options

To Those Who Work in School Districts

eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've got a question about organization in school districts. Ours is a mess and I wanted to get some feed back on what others are doing.

We have 10,000 students with 2,000 staff and 6,000 PCs spread out over 25 buildings. To support this we have 1 Supervisor, 4 Senior Techs and 5 Techs. 2 of our Senior Techs are in a Network/Systems Admin roll. We don't have defined rolls so we are expected to do everything and have Domain Admin rights to do it with.

Having worked in private sector IT I can honestly say this place is a mess. This can not be the norm for school districts.

Comments

• Options
    xenodamusxenodamus Member Posts: 758
    I worked in a school district, but not as an IT guy. I taught a high school vocational course called "Information Technology", though, so I had alot of contact with the district IT guys. Our district was probably half the size of yours and they only had 2 guys who were offically part of the IT department. They would hire on students or interns for portions of the year.

What you describe sounds similar to the district where I worked though. The 2 offical IT guys handled everything - network/systems/pc repair/web design..you name it.
    CISSP | CCNA:R&S/Security | MCSA 2003 | A+ S+ | VCP6-DTM | CCA-V CCP-V
  • Options
    chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
    xenodamus wrote: »
    I worked in a school district, but not as an IT guy. I taught a high school vocational course called "Information Technology", though, so I had alot of contact with the district IT guys. Our district was probably half the size of yours and they only had 2 guys who were offically part of the IT department. They would hire on students or interns for portions of the year.

What you describe sounds similar to the district where I worked though. The 2 offical IT guys handled everything - network/systems/pc repair/web design..you name it.