Options

Advice needed on certs for major career change!

weemoofrazzweemoofrazz Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I am new to the forum and since I hold no certified IT qualifications I am new to IT too. When I originally left school I went to university to study BSc Computing Science. I hated it! I lasted 10 months then left, it was all C++ and heavy on maths which I always hated!

Since leaving uni a whole 13 years ago I’ve always been personally involved with computers. I taught myself how to upgrade and replace components on my many desktop pc's and I used to do likewise for family and friends. I’ve always been the one that colleagues and family use to sort their pc problems.

None of this of course means anything in terms of employability in the IT industry and so I’ve finally decided to take a major change in career from nursing to IT!

My question for all the kind users here is this...

What certs are going to be best for me to get? I am interested in IT support but more on site than via the phone. I’ve always wanted to work for myself upgrading systems, building systems and providing OS support, virus removal that sort of stuff.

I've looked into what’s available and the costs involved. For a first step I've ordered [FONT=&quot]CompTIA A+ Complete Deluxe Study Guide: Exams 220-701 (Essentials) and 220-702 (Practical Application) by Docter and the exam cram. I've also ordered [/FONT]MCDST Self-paced Training Kit for exams 70-271 & 70-272 and the exam cram bundle.

So I intend to hopefully obtain the CompTIA A+ and the MCDST, my question is what would be the best cert to go for after these?

I’ve looked at the CompTIA Network+ and the MCSE but I am just not sure what would be best for what I would like to do.

I’d appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks
Francesicon_surprised.gif

Comments

• Options
    jahsouljahsoul Member Posts: 453
    This differs from person to person and it ultimately depends on the direction you want to take.