Options

MCDST or MCITP:EDST7? or Both?

Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
Hey everyone, i'm currently studying for my Network+ which i plan on completing before new years. After that, i was planning on getting a desktop support certification to snag a helpdesk job or any entry level job to break into IT(even pc repair). (life goal is in networking)
I am 21yrs old and currently in college. I've just recently read from Microsoft that for being a student, they are willing to give me 52% off vouchers with a free second shot till June 30, 2011! That comes down to $60 each! Great incentive to get certified huh?

Ok, all fun stuff aside, I'm concerned about jobs in the future, and having a nice resume and all that jazz. I do know that XP is most likely going to be used for a while(3-5yrs?) or even till end of life. I know that MCDST testing ends on March 31, 2011. So with this in mind, I'm wondering if it is worth it to get it before that date. I fear that if i skip out on it and just get the MCITP, my resume might be tossed or filtered for someone with both MCDST and MCITP:EDST7! (I hear HR can be dumb when it comes to all this alphabet soup)

Ok Techexams! help me out with some reasoning!
1. Should i get my MCDST? or go with MCITP:EDST7?
2. Will MCDST hold any value in the future?
3. If I should, do you guys think i can study and pass 271 and 272 before the end of March with only A+ and Network+ experience?
4. If I should, how hard would studying for the MCITP:EDST7 tests be in comparison? (I want to take both and not the upgrade because the upgrade wont count for EA7 [if i ever want to get that]and I get to list MCTS for passing the 680(win7)

PS. I do plan on getting the EDST7 cert(preferably while i still have the discount), this is mostly about being more marketable and desirable when it comes down to the hiring process. Would it even matter in the future?

THANK YOU GUYS!
2019 Goals
CompTIA Linux+
[ ] Bachelor's Degree

Comments

• Options