Options

Which Degree? Is a degree worth it than collecting certs?

Hello guys,

Ive been reading this website:

Top 25 Online Schools in 2010 - The Best Regionally Accredited Online Colleges
thebestdegrees.org/top-online-schools-ranked/

and it shows that SNHU is second rank. I've been talking to them and they already accepted my credits. I am only waiting for my job to give me a GO on reimbursement on my tuition. I was wondering what do you guys think about SNHU? My goal is to become a Manager or a Director of an IT department. I have a B.S. in EE and a CCNA. I'm currently studying for CWNA and CCNP. After that, I want to pursue CCSP, CCVP, MCITP and CCIE.

1. Is SNHU credential in the field known?
  2. I guess my question is which degree should i pursue MS in IT or MBA in IT?
  3. Is a degree worth it nowadays or should i stick to collecting certifications?

Information Technology (M.S.)
Information Technology (M.S.); Southern New Hampshire University

MBA in Information Technology Management
MBA in Information Technology Management; Southern New Hampshire University

Btw, I've checked out WGU but it just didnt work out for me.

Thank you

Comments

• Options
    PristonPriston Member Posts: 999 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Is SNHU credential in the field known?

Is a degree worth it nowadays or should i stick to collecting certifications?
    1. Not one of the top accreditations, but it does look accreditied. I wouldn't trust my opinion alone on this though.
    http://www.snhu.edu/341.asp

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Accreditation_Council_for_Business_Schools_and_Programs

MBA Vs. MS Degrees | eHow.com
    A.A.S. in Networking Technologies
    A+, Network+, CCNA
  • Options
    cisco_certscisco_certs Member Posts: 119
    thanks! more comments if its worth it?
  • Options
    cisco_certscisco_certs Member Posts: 119
    Priston wrote: »
    1. Not one of the top accreditations, but it does look accreditied. I wouldn't trust my opinion alone on this though.