Options

New to Linux

cilenamocilenamo Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. First I want to say thank you to everyone who posts actively on this site. It is extremely helpful to anyone looking to get certified.

I am new to Linux and my plan is to get my Linux+ cert before the end of the year to make it a lifetime cert. I am able to commit 4-5 hours of study time a day every day of the week, and possible more on the weekends. I am looking for a book to help me pass both the LX0-101 & LX0-102. I read that the 101 test is a bit more challenging than the 102 test. I picked up from a friend, the Novell's Guide to CompTIA's Linux+ guide. Its designed as a 5 day course. Any feedback on that? Im looking to get this done by the end of Nov, first week of Dec so that I can retake if I dont pass.

Any help, ideas, suggestions would be greatly, greatly appreciated. I apologize for such a long post.

Comments

• Options
    varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790
    cilenamo wrote: »
    1. I am new to Linux and my plan is to get my Linux+ cert before the end of the year to make it a lifetime cert.
    2. Im looking to get this done by the end of Nov, first week of Dec so that I can retake if I dont pass.

Any help, ideas, suggestions would be greatly, greatly appreciated. I apologize for such a long post.
    1. I am sorry my friend but that goal may be too ambitious and you are also mistaken about L+ being a lifetime cert. As it is now, L+ is based on LPIC-1 which requires renewal after 5 years.
    2. 1 month even with non-stop cramming involved won't get you through. But taking the course would definitely put you on a fast track, just not THAT fast.
  • Options
    cilenamocilenamo Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□