Options

The Mac Tax

SabaloSabalo Member Posts: 100
I just wrapped up the researching and the purchasing of two new laptops. During the course of research, I considered Apple products and I began to wonder... is the "Mac Tax" a real thing, or is it one of those technology myths?

I just wrapped up my (admittedly cursory) investigation... when I'm done compiling the data and coming to my conclusions, I'll post them!

Anyone care to hypothesize? icon_wink.gif
I'm no expert, I'm just a guy with some time, money, and the desire to learn a few things.

Completed ITILv3 on 11/20, working on College & METEO, reading Classics on my Kindle, organizing my music library with Mediamonkey & TuneUp, trying to lose a wee bit of weight by running, eating less, and lifting weights, planning for my stateside vacation, and wasting time posting on forums.

Comments

• Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    A quick google search revealed that it's a reference to paying more for the Mac brand vs an equivalent competitor. Apple has significant brand equity. Nothing unusual about that. Microsoft has it too. People are willing to pay $200 for a Windows OS v getting Linux for free.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • Options
    A quick google search revealed that it's a reference to paying more for the Mac brand vs an equivalent competitor. Apple has significant brand equity. Nothing unusual about that. Microsoft has it too. People are willing to pay $200 for a Windows OS v getting Linux for free.

I know what it means. icon_wink.gif

The question is whether or not Apple actually charges more for the same hardware, as simple as that. I saw some preliminary data that seemed to suggest otherwise when I was hunting for my laptop this past week.