Lab Computer Specs

medicmedic Member Posts: 116 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm thinking of getting into the wonderful(?) world of MS certification and want to get a new laptop that I can run VM Workstation on as my lab.

Best Buy has a Dell Inspiron with a Core i5 processor, 6 GB RAM, and 640 GB hard drive for $899. Is that enough horsepower? I am brand new to VM so I'm not sure what is required to run enough servers/clients to get through the MCITP labs smoothly. Money definitely IS an object.

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Should be enough horsepower. Don't forget to lab with Server 2008 R2as the tests now cover R2.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • za3bourza3bour Member Posts: 1,062 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think you'll be fine, I'm doing mine with less specs (i3 and 4GB) and it's been working well.
  • medicmedic Member Posts: 116 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks. That's the answer I was hoping for.

I ordered the 2008 R2 Unleashed book yesterday. I figure I'll start by looking through that to decide which exam I want to work on first.
  • EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd recommend the 640 exam if your new to the MS world. This exam focuses on AD. I also see you have the CCNA, which might make the 642 exam the one you want to do first.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
    I'm new to MS certs, but not MS in general. I have a degree in networking which included Win 2000/2003 infrastucture and AD classes and we run a 2000/2003 network at work. We are planning an upgrade to 2008 beginning of next year so I figure if I am going to learn 2008 I might as well go all out and get the certs in the process.

I just had my first real exposure to Win 7 today. I haven't let go of XP yet. I have a lot of catching up to do. Should be fun. :)
  • marcelsmarcels Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□