Options

IT jobs that can't be outsourced - Which ones?

Pratt2Pratt2 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am just beginning my journey in IT and while I understand that the most important thing for me to do is follow the path that interests me most, I also know that several years from now (or right now for that matter) many of the jobs related to certain specialties will be/are outsourced to other countries. With the inequalities in pay and rampant cert cheating (for a laugh, check out what countries the vast majority of traffic to braindump sites come from) it will be impossible to compete in those areas, particularly for someone with relatively little experience.

So here's my question. What cert paths qualify someone for the range of jobs that are most difficult to outsource? Which of those job types will be easiest/possible for an inexperienced-yet-intelligent person to land?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    If you are thinking about jobs that won't be outsourced, you may want to consider what people are going to be outsourcing over the new few years and get a job on the outsourcing side of things, I.E. cloud services, SAAS, consulting etc.

Also, as food for thought, there is no IT job that is exempt from being outsourced. IT is less about having a "secure" job that will last you for 10-20 years, like some industries, and more about having skills that will make you attractive to a broader set of potential employers. You probably get that already, but I think some are disillusioned by what job security really means.
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□