Options

Politely Object?

TwistedSwitchTwistedSwitch Registered Users Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I have a possible situation coming up next month where I will be offered a full time position at my current job where I currently work as a Temp help desk analyst. I have been working as a temp here for 1.5 years while I finish school.

I graduate in January, and I am expecting to get an offer to work full time. There will be 2 full time help desk analyst then. Currently I know what the position pays or at least what the other tech makes, and that is where I have a question.

I need to know if it is politically ok to politely object to the offer if need be?

First off let me give you guys some history about me Vs the other tech( Not trying to boast, just trying to give you guys an idea of my mindset)

I have worked here about a year longer than the guy who just got hired on as full time.

I have few more certifications.

I carry about 3/4`s more of the work load each month while he does about a 1/4.

Given my senior experience and work ethic over him I feel like I should get a little bit more than him. Now I know I cant go into the interview and act like I know what he makes, But I am thinking I can as mentioned politely object to offer if its not what I feel like I am worth.

So yes, you guys see the way I am thinking now so if you please give me some tips on how I can go about trying to get a better offer if it comes to that. I just do not want to go into the interview and roll over like a dog and accept anything.

Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    azjagazjag Member Posts: 579 ■■■■■■■□□□
    You can negotiate a for a better offer. But to flat out reject the offer will likely end your opportunity.

You have 1.5 years as a temp working onsite at the company. He has been employed with the "company" longer than you and according to HR will be senior to you based on lenght of time employed. Unless the company is going to recoginize the temp work you performed.