Options

Getting a REAL IT job?

over9000over9000 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm extremely new to the IT field, (just got an A+ cert last year and hoped for the best since I love computers). However, I don't think my current IT job is helping me out that much. I literally only reset passwords. I've tried sticking it out hoping for better work later, but I haven't done anything new for the past 8 months and realize it's time for a change. The problem is that other than this job I have no other IT experience.

I've tried applying for other help desk jobs, but I get no callbacks at all. It seems like the minimum requirements for these positions is to know AD, (Remedy or another ticketing systems), have troubleshooting experience with XP, Vista, 7, and Office for Tier I help desk positions. Sometimes some of these positions want people who have experience with Citrix and Server 2003/2008, but doesn't this seem a bit much for a Tier I position or Desktop Support position?

I even tried submitting my resume to recruiting companies, and there's been no luck there. They don't even tell you what to work on or anything, (am I supposed to call them back and ask? confused.png) They just don't call back.

My resume's probably bad, but I don't really know what OSes I can list that I know since I don't have any Microsoft certs in any OSes yet just A+. I've used the Microsoft Office programs, but only did the Online Microsoft training on them which would make me proficient in them, but I don't know what I need to know so I could troubleshoot them.

This probably sounds dumb, but what certs should I get to meet the requirements for these positions so I can get a better job. I'm seeing that A+/Net+ isn't really enough for these positions in my area at least. I'm going to finish up Security+ in a couple of weeks to get lifetime certs, but I'm wondering what to do after that so I could get a better job.