Options

70-646 before 70-640 and 70-642?

ChissChiss Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi, first time posting. icon_cheers.gif

My office decided to train us up on the latest products that are out there and therefore I was placed on a course which introduced the 70-646 exam Windows 2008 Server Administrator. This is my first time learning about Windows Servers, although I have worked on them over the last few years.

Cutting a long story short, for the last few weeks I've been studying the material and have some grasp of the concepts, but feel I need some more time I booked an exam but have rescheduled it to January due to an increase in workload.

Now that I have more time, I'm in two minds whether it might be better to switch to doing 640 and/or 642 before doing 646, would this be better?

Or should I stay the course and solidify my knowledge in 646 and complete it in January?

Thanks for your replies in advance.

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Welcome to TE!
    Since the 646 uses so much of what you would learn by studying for the 640/642 you should probably do those first. You may have experience with some of the stuff but probably not enough to pass the 646 exam. If you want just study the objectives for the 640/642 and take the 646 test first or just reschedule your 646 test as either 640 or 642. Since you have some server experience the order of the 640/642 doesn't matter much. If you were a noob to servers then I would say do them 640 > 642 > 646.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    neathneathneathneathneathneath Member Posts: 438
    earweed wrote: »
    Welcome to TE!