Options

Seeking Certification Advice

I am currently pursuing my CISSP (associate) scheduled in Jan. 2011

After CISSP I was planning on doing E|CSA/LPT based really on interest...really don't see much demand for it in the industry just enjoy learning.

I am seeking advice on what I should tackle next. I currently work as a DoD contractor doing Vulnerability assessments. I really want to move into Penetration testing, or more advanced lead Security assessments. End career goal is more in security management, but that's down the road.

I was wondering what certifications you think are valuable to earn for someone who has my career goals.

I was thinking of the following:
C|HFI - Based really on interest and might want to study to see if I want to move in that direction.
E|CSA/LPT - Based on interest
GIAC - Maybe?
CISSP | GCIH | CEH | CNDA | LPT | ECSA | CCENT | MCTS | A+ | Net+ | Sec+

Next Up: Linux+/RHCSA, GCIA

Comments

• Options
    wastedtimewastedtime Member Posts: 586 ■■■■□□□□□□
    In my opinion, I would study what you are interested in (provided that it doesn't break the piggy bank). Also I would say the GIAC are more recognized then the EC-Council ones.

That is just my opinion though.
  • Options
    ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    Thanks Wastedtime, a simple answer, but makes a lot of sense. I concur I do see more demand for GIAC, but the tests are rather expensive and unless I know there is ROI it might be hard to justify.

I appreciate any feedback.

If GIAC is the way to go any recommendations on path or certs to get within this organization?

• Options
    wastedtimewastedtime Member Posts: 586 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You could go the DoD 8570 route or pick a subject area and go with one of sans recommended paths. You also could just do what interest you the most. I find it hard to study something that is not interesting to me.

DoDD 8570
    Certification Roadmap
  • Options
    aprillove20aprillove20 Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□