Options

CCNA Voice Lab... Need dial tone...

I dropped all the phone lines in my house about 2 years ago in leui of cell phones. We also finally got DSL - without a phone line - so I at least now have something better than satellite internet that I had been using for years.

I'm now, of course, studying for the CCNA-Voice and I've got most of the equipment (routers, switches, etc) and I'm going to pick up some fxo/fxs cards to play with... I wish I could afford some aim/cue stuff... -= sheesh =-

Okay, I know, I'm long-winded...

As of now, I don't have a phone line with dial tone to plug into the fxo ports to play with...

Q) Do I really need to have a phone line ordered through Verizon (my local carrier for $21/m) or can I get a dial-tone through someone such as Vonage for my fxo testing?

Assuming that Vonage is okay (they have a $10/m-200min plan), would I be able to use that to connect to remote routers at another location? I guess I'm a newbie so bear with me... it seems that if I did that, I would be doing compression with dialtone over top of voip on my dsl.

Something is telling me that it's why too much overhead...

Thanks for your time and feedback.
-paul

Comments

• Options
    peanutnogginpeanutnoggin Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think most will agree that you can configure your own "PBX" to test the FXO dial functions. If you want to be able to dial local numbers, than I'm not sure if you can use vonage without a bit of leg work. I'd be interested to see others response. I know some folks have used a service called Sipgate to perform some actual testing. Sipgate offers a free 30-day trial. You may want to look into that before you spend unnecessary money on vonage. HTH.

-Peanut
    We cannot have a superior democracy with an inferior education system!

-Mayor Cory Booker
  • Options
    chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□