Options

Passed today

Pratt2Pratt2 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Passed this morning with a 792. I have no previous classroom or professional IT experience. I knew going in that I wouldn't ace it but was nearly certain I knew enough to pass.

I read through the big Mike Meyers book over the course of about a month. Then over about 3 weeks I went through it again, made like 200 flashcards, watched all of the Professor Messor videos a few times and took notes. I looked at a couple practice exams but they were all so far from the objectives they were useless.

The troubleshooting process was heavily tested. Make sure you know details about what you might do at each step. The lone subnetting question was basic. Networks with varrying max speeds or distances were tested using maximum theoretical value. There were also a few detailed questions I swear weren't covered in the materials I studied so Meyers and Messer may not cover you 100%.

I want to squeeze in Security+ before Christmas but that might be pushing it.

Comments

• Options
    HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Congrats! For someone with no prior experience that's a pretty solid score. If you seriously push yourself you can do Security+ less memorization more concept application. If you do for it though get the Gibson book, it covers everything you need to pass.
    WGU BS:IT Completed June 30th 2012.
    WGU MS:ISA Completed October 30th 2013.
  • Options
    Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
  • Options
    Pratt2Pratt2 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hypntick wrote: »
    Congrats! For someone with no prior experience that's a pretty solid score. If you seriously push yourself you can do Security+ less memorization more concept application. If you do for it though get the Gibson book, it covers everything you need to pass.

Hey thanks. Just to be sure, are you referring to CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide, Darril Gibson, 2009 ?