Options

May have to use this thing : Please Critique

Hello, Just in case my current company where I work as an intern does not decided to my hire me full time I would like to get my resume checked out. I have attached it below.

My intent was to keep it short and sweet - I have heard employers do not like a jumble of micro details. The details I have listed is me to a T, for I have not been in this profession long enough to develop anything more than I believe what I have already listed.

Thanks in advanced.
Currently Reading: Again to Carthage - CCNA/Security

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Ok here goes:

1. This is the first time I have seen a Target section, I'd do away with it, this is more cover letter material than a resume. A resume should highlight what you have done and not what you expect to do.

2. Have a separate certifications section. It should say Certification/Education and then list first the certs and then the education, moreso since degree isnt yet completed.

3. You can list a Skills section and then put in the Windows 98/XP/2003/2008/other software you want in that section.

4. Have bullet points for each job responsibility. Makes it more readable. I cant stress it enough, readability is paramount. If the resume is not readable, the HR dud is going to have one look at it and toss it into the dumpster.

5. Put some more meat on the bones for each job responsibility. I am sure you can out more into it instead of just saying handled troubleshooting. What kind of troubleshooting did you do, what system crashes did you recover, what tools you used to recover, how many tickets you closed, what systems you used. HR likes to see "Troubleshot Windows problems including DNS, DHCP, file sharing and mailbox issues" instead of "Troubleshot a variety of Windows issues". You must have faced a HUGE variety of issues fixing stuff for SOHO folks.

Otherwise quite well laid out.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..